Welcome to the SunGlow Chakras Blog!

We hope you will enjoy our postings, sharing our thoughts, insights, and other helpful and fun comments.  We will strive to bring you interesting, inspiring, and informative postings and pictures.  We would love to hear from you, and learn more about what inspires you!


Blog Post 1.20.19

The Meaning of Birthstones

The association of stones representing months or signs of the zodiac goes as far back Josephus, a first century Jewish historian.  Aaron’s breastplate carried 12 stones, one for each of the Tribes of Israel, the 12 months of the year, and the 12 signs of the zodiac.  Later in the 8th & 9th centuries, the apostles became associated with a particular stone, with each follower keeping all 12 stones, wearing one per month to honor each apostle.  Although the exact date of wearing only one stone is not known, according to the Gemological Institute of America, this practice began in Germany in the mid 1500’s.  Indeed, many ancient cultures, including the Hebrew, Arabic, Hindu, Italian, Polish, Russian, and others, all have their own Birthstone traditions.

Over the years, the continents, and the cultures, the “birthstone” has taken on many meanings.  Many of the “Traditional Birthstones” in the modern West are precious stones, such as Diamonds for April, Emeralds for May, etc.  A standardized list was started in 1912 by what is now known as Jewelers of America, and has gone through several changes, up to 2016.  Britain and other countries have their own lists as well.

In Eastern traditions, gemstones are associated with one’s zodiac sign, instead of the birth month.  Stones are worn that correspond with celestial forces such as the sun, the moon, and the planets.  You wear your stone as protection based on the position of the celestial bodies, at the time and place of your birth.  Other traditions include Mystical Birthstones, a Tibetan tradition that is more than 1,000 years old.  In the Indian tradition, (dating back to 1500 B.C.), the Ayurvedic birthstone list has medicinal qualities. 

At, we are very excited to have launched our own birthstone tradition!  Our exclusive designs of unique Birthday Bracelets, use the traditional semi-precious stones, zodiac charms and birthstones for each month.  Each month’s design was carefully researched for the birthstones, birth month colors, and more, and each is available in your choice of silver or gold plated finishes!  These are wonderful gifts for anyone’s birthday…including your own! 

Don’t forget to follow us on:

Facebook at

Instagram as sunglow_chakras

November Sagittarius Zodiac Charm Birthday Bracelet



  March Pisces Traditional Birthstone Birthday      Bracelet










Blog Post 1/10/19

The Meaning of the Seven Chakras

Originating in the ancient traditions of Buddhism, Jainism & Hinduism, Chakras, (Sanskrit word for wheel or circle), represent focal areas in the body supporting emotional, physical and spiritual energy centers.  According to the Indian tradition, there are seven major chakra centers, located along the spine from the base to the head.  As each of us is an integral part of the universe with which we should strive to peacefully coexist, our chakra energy centers also correlate with the energies inherent in light, elements, sound and colors.  Therefore, using rocks, crystals or gemstones, smells, colors, and sounds specific to each chakra can enhance our natural energies, leading us to better health and inner peace.  The seven major Chakras and some of their enhancers are:

Root:  Color:  Red;   Crystal:  Ruby;  Aromatherapy:  Cedarwood

Sacral:  Color:  Orange;  Crystal:  Amber;  Aromatherapy:  Sage

Solar Plexus:  Color: Yellow;  Crystal:  Citrine;  Aromatherapy:  Basil  

Heart:  Color: Green;  Crystal:  Green Jade;  Aromatherapy:  Rose

Throat:  Color:  Blue;  Crystal:  Lapis Lazuli;  Aromatherapy:  Camomile

Third Eye or Brow:  Color:  Indigo;  Crystal:  Sodalite;  Aromatherapy:  Hyacinth

Crown:  Color:  Violet;  Crystal:  Amethyst;  Aromatherapy:  Frankincense

SunGlow Chakras is dedicated to helping you achieve your personal level of self-fulfillment, relaxation and inner peace.  Our very unique line of jewelry includes aromatherapy, chakra/yoga jewelry, featuring gemstones, crystals, and other energy-enhancing elements.  Choose your favorites from the Chakra Treasures section of our web site, at, or the many other sections as well.

Colors of the Seven Major Chakras

Our Chakra Buddha Bracelet boasts all semi-precious stones.